un petit vin

Is what the French would say: a little wine.  But they say ‘petit’ for everything, so in the end it doesn’t mean anything.

Today was my last day at my internship.  After a day of finishing up old projects, reorganizing all my files and saying goodbyes, they sent me all over Paris lugging equipment / picking more up / dropping some off / etc, etc.  I was sweating, exhausted and even pretty angry when I showed up at my boss’s door to give him the last of the stuff…  But somehow it always melts away when he opens the door, makes a crack about how I look like I need a drink, shakes my hand and calls me “digger”.  He gave me a 2006 merlot/cabernet-sauvignon and told me, “Drink that before you go.”

I walked in saying under my breath, “This is #@$*ing heavy,” and I walked out saying “Il m’a donné une bouteille de vin…”  Ahh… as much as I’ve hated moments of it, this internship has been #@$*ing great.

~ by trevorkt on May 11, 2009.

2 Responses to “un petit vin”

  1. Send some of that wine over here when you get the chance. 😛

  2. Oh man, that’s so exciting!

Leave a comment